Loading...
United States 2018-10-04T19:58:22+00:00

United States

Project leader

Dr. Kashif Nawaz – R&D Staff – Oak Ridge National Laboratory – PO Box 2008, Bldg. 3147, MS-6070 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6070 1-865-241-0972 nawazk@ornl.gov

Supporting team:

Dr. Patrick Geoghegan – R&D Staff – Oak Ridge National Laboratory – PO Box 2008, Bldg. 3147, MS-6070 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6070 1-865-574-0332 geogheganp@ornl.gov

Mr. Michael Garrabrant – Chief Executive Officer – Stone Mountain Technologies, Inc. – 609 Wesinpar Rd. Johnson City, TN 1-423-735-7400 mgarrabrant@stonemountaintechnologies.com

Dr. Stephen Memory – Director, Thermal & Materials – A.O. Smith Corporate Technology Center – 12100 West Park Place Milwaukee, WI 53224-3006 smemory@aosmith.com

Dr. Kyle Gluesenkamp – R&D Staff – Oak Ridge National Laboratory – PO Box 2008, Bldg. 3147, MS-6070 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6070 gluesenkampk@ornl.gov

Executive Committee Delegate

Mr. Antonio Bouza – U.S. Department of Energy; Building Technologies Program antonio.bouza@ee.doe.gov

US Team: potential contributions

Task 2

Hot water demand patterns

  • For standard rating procedures
  • Field test patterns
  • Commercial example

System concepts

  • Electric HPWH; top mount heat pump with wrapped tank condenser coil
  • Gas HPWH

Task 3/4 – modelling tools, R&D

The Department of Energy issued a Roadmap in 2014, called: Research & Development Roadmap for Emerging Water Heating Technologies. Based upon that Roadmap a number of technological developments have been supported.

ORNL Heat Pump Design Model (HPDM)

  • Low GWP alternative refrigerant analysis example

Gas HPWH modeling & analyses

Task 5 – field monitoring

Residential electric HPWH with low-GWP refrigerants: A. O. Smith (AOS)/ORNL collaboration

  • Plans are to develop prototype HPWH; lab and field test results will be summarized for Annex 46

Gas HPWH: SMTI/AOS/ORNL collaboration